How do I set up Groups to use in my space?

Groups are a powerful feature in Kona!  When you set up a group, you can then use the grouping to set up tasks, events, conversations, and files.  If a new team member joins the space and is added to a group, they will automatically have access to all the items they need!  You will not need to manually add that person to everything one by one.  Your team members can be part of multiple groups. 

Note: Adding and editing groups is only available for a space owner.

To view, add, and edit groups: From inside your space, click on the “Manage” link on the right side of the screen under the Space Members heading.  The following screen appears.

To create a group: Click the “Add Group” button at the bottom of the screen to create a new group.  After entering the group name, you would choose a person from the top section and drag them below the dotted line.  They will then be in the group.  Click “Add Group” once you’ve finished putting team members into the group.  Tip: Select the compact view by clicking the icon with four lines under the “Find people” field to see more people and groups on the screen.  This makes it easier to add people to a group.

To edit a group: Click on a group name from the bottom of the screen to view all group members.  To add a member, simply drag them from the top section into the bottom.  To remove someone, hover over the team member’s picture in the bottom section and then click the X.  You could also rename the group by typing in the group name field.  Click “Save Group” when finished making changes.

To delete a group: Click on a group name from the bottom of the screen to bring up the edit group screen.  Click the “Delete Group” button at the bottom of the page to remove the group.

 Groups.png

To use groups inside a conversation, task, event, or file: Once the groups are created, they will be available in all objects when you are adding people.  In an event, for example, after clicking the link next to Attendees and then clicking into the “Add people” box, the groups and individuals are available for inclusion in this event.  

Have more questions? Submit a request

6 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Michael Ware

    Can everyone in a space see the conversations, tasks and events that are assigned to a group? 

    thx,

    Michael 

  • 0
    Avatar
    Christine Boermeester

    Hi Michael,

    Conversations are always private to only the people included.  Tasks, events, and files can be seen by everyone in the space if the lock icon is set to unlocked (public) or only the people included if the lock is locked (private).  So this gives you the flexibility to assign certain people but still give visibility to others, or to keep it totally private. Let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks,

    Christine

  • 0
    Avatar
    Kimberly Sack

    If your space is already set-up with groups, but you need to create a group for external people that have limited visibility. Do you have to go and flag every other conversation/file with the internal groups? Or, can you just restrict sensitive material going forward by setting the internal groups?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Iris Lavarias

    Hi Kimberly,

    Conversations are always private to those individuals or groups that you include in the conversation. What this means is that f you have added only your internal groups to a conversation, then they are the only ones who can view that conversation. For conversations created prior to your setting up your external group, they will not be able to view them, as they are not included in it. However, it is a different story for files, tasks and events. You have to restrict visibility by sharing the file, task or event only with your internal groups and closing the lock icon to make it accessible only to that group and not everyone else in the space. 

    Please let me know if I have misunderstood your question.

    Thanks,

    Iris

  • 0
    Avatar
    Edie Moore

    I dont see the add group button on the bottom of my screen

  • 0
    Avatar
    Iris Lavarias

    Hi Edie,

    Thanks for your question.  Are you the owner of the space?  Adding and editing groups is only available for a space owner.

    Warm regards,

    Iris

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk